Feathers, feathers, feathers

Feathers seem to be very “in” right now.  I have seen a lot of feather themes lately, both in real life and trending on Pinterest.  From feather tattoos to feather accessories, they seem to be everywhere. I have to admit, something about feathers just draws me in. I think in my mind I associate feathers with freedom, like a caged bird set free.  They bring to mind the freedom I have found in Christ. Today I was walking back from the cafeteria when I stumbled upon a tiny polka dotted feather. I picked it up and took it home. It’s now residing on the front of the door to my room. It serves as a simple reminder of the freedom I have been given… “It was for freedom that Christ set us free; so keep standing firm, do not be subject again to a yoke of slavery!” Galatians 5:1

Recently I crafted using feathers. I saw a picture of painted feathers online and decided I wanted to do something similar.  The pictures below tell the story of that endeavor.  Enjoy!
Feathers before they were painted.

Feathers before they were painted.

Winnie trying to take credit for my artistic endeavors.

Winnie trying to take credit for my artistic endeavors.

Painted feathers!

Painted feathers!

Writing on cardboard.

Writing on cardboard.

Completed project! Which will make a lovely gift for a dear friend.

Completed project! Which will make a lovely gift for a dear friend.

Have a great evening friends!

Leave a Reply

