Typical

So, I made your typical crayon art the other day for my dear friend’s birthday.  It’s so odd how certain things become popular.  A couple of years ago if you were to say the term “crayon art” people would have thought you were referring to your coloring pages as art, but now it’s a fairly popular thing to make.  I think this has a lot to do with Pinterest.  That was the first place I had ever saw crayon art.  If you don’t know what it is, basically you melt crayons on a canvas (usually via a blowdryer) to make “art.”  Here are my attempts at putting my own spin on crayon art.

Image

Gathering the materials needed (I ended up using some paint brushes as well).

 

crayon

I hot glued the pieces of crayons to the canvas then used a blow dryer to melt and spread the wax.

 

image

Then I peeled off the crayon remnants from the canvas.

 

crayon1

I then hot glued paint brushes I had in my room to the top part of the canvas.

 

crayon2

Here is the final product!

7 thoughts on “Typical

  1. Very neat! I actually so this about a year ago and never got around to it. I know people usually just leave the crayon stubs at the top, but I am really liking the paintbrush idea!

  2. I love the addition of the paint brushes to this Kait. It’s definitely different than most of the melted crayon pieces that people make. I like it a lot! I’m going to be following your blog so I can learn more crafting ideas.

  3. I tried this once, and it’s actually a lot harder than most people would think! Getting the crayon to go the direction you want it to and to not splatter all over the canvas actually takes some skill. My attempt didn’t go well, but my sister is really good at these and made one for me, which I have hanging in my dorm room 🙂

Leave a Reply

