Homecoming and coming home

Not this past weekend, but the weekend before it was Grove City College’s Homecoming, where alumni both young and old, traveled from near and far, back “home.”  What an interesting thought for some of us.  To think that someday, once we leave this place, we will see it as our home…  To be honest, I already see it this way.  What is a home per-say?  It’s a place where we live right??  Well then, for now, Grove City College is my home.  It’s where I live.

Living for me right now consists of so many things that can all probably be summed up in the verb growing.  For Kait Tromans to live is to grow and growing I am.  Sometimes this growing feels a lot more like being stretched, how far can I go before I can stretch no more??  But when I step back and look at the bigger picture, I see that this stretching is part of the growing process.  And although there are times I don’t see it or acknowledge it, this college is helping me live, helping me grow, and for this I am grateful.

There is a bitter sweetness that comes with the thought that one day this will no longer be my home.  Eventually, I will graduate and move on to a different stage in life, then claiming a different home.  I will miss this home and the season of growth it brought with it, but I know my new home will be the place God wants me to be.  And this new home, just like the previous home, will only be lived in for a season, because as we all know our homes here are so very temporary.

This past homecoming I did not come home, simply because I was already here.  The weekend was filled with lots of silliness and fun.  I was blessed by a visit from my family and we were able to travel over to Franklin for the apple festival that was going on there which was lovely.  I also attended the dance on campus which was surely interesting, to say the least!  Below are some pictures from Homecoming weekend.

Karleigh and I at the parade in the morning!

Karleigh and I at the parade in the morning!

She's clearly loving it!

She’s clearly loving it!

We met up with some of our cousins at the Applefest, which was a great surprise!

We met up with some of our cousins at the Applefest, which was a great surprise!

My niece and I at the festival.

My niece and I at the festival (she’s still working on growing out her hair).

The twins and I being silly at the dance!

It’s a twin sandwich!

Heidi, Allie, and I being silly at the photo booth!

Heidi, Allie, and I being silly at the photo booth!

Finally, as fall break approaches this week, I look forward to returning to another one of my homes, the one where my family resides.  I can’t wait to see them all, but my heart is really longing to hold this sweet little pig… 😉

Kamryn Grace in her Halloween costume.

Kamryn Grace in her Halloween costume.

One thought on “Homecoming and coming home

Leave a Reply

